SDCC 2016 Wrap-Up!

downloadAnother San Diego Comic Con has come and gone, and even though I wasn’t there, I sure felt like I was, though that’s probably due to the insurmountable amount of time I spent scouring sites for any bit of information I could. From WB’s upcoming DC movies to Marvel announcing the actress that’s bringing Captain Marvel to life, there was a lot of cool news that came out of this year’s massive convention. So, let’s take a look at some of my favorite announcements!

Batman/TMNT Adventuresbtas-tmnt-promo-706fd

For having the word “Comic” in it, this year’s San Diego Comic Con didn’t have much in the way of major announcements for comics. Sure, there was the usual comics getting movie and TV adaptations (this year saw Mouse Guard and Black Magick get them respectively), but when it came to Marvel and DC, things were surprisingly super quiet.

With such few announcements, it’s no surprise that Batman/TMNT Adventures crossover became one of the biggest news items for me personally. I was a huge fan of James Tynion IV and Freddie Williams III”s Batman/TMNT, and while I would really like a sequel series to that, this mash up of Batman: The Animated Series and the new TMNT cartoon sounds like a lot of fun. At the very least, it’s going to be really cool seeing the world of Batman: TAS again.

 

CoEpybjVYAA3Lrw-600x413WB’s DC Films

Remember how we were all cautiously optimistic for WB’s DC movies after Batman V Superman (well, some of us anyways)? Well, I think we can almost remove “cautiously” from that statement, as WB’s reveals of Wonder Woman and Justice League blew the roof off of Hall H. Holy crap, where to begin? For starters, Wonder Woman looks incredible. From the World War I setting to the action to the sheer fact that there’s COLOR in this movie, everything about the Gal Gadot starring movie looks pretty damn sweet.

WB also not only revealed a new group shot of the Justice League, they also revealed actual footage from the ucoming movie. . Featuring Ben Affleck’s Bruce Wayne, Jason Momoa’s Aquaman, Ezra Miller’s Flash, Ray Fisher’s Cyborg, and Gal Gadot’s Wonder Woman, the footage shown is pretty similar to what was described at the big Justice League set visit. While it didn’t have a ton of action (they are still filming after all), Justice League already looks like it has a much lighter tone than Batman V Superman and Man of Steel. Sounds like WB got the memo about audiences wanting to have fun at the movies again.

 

Marvel Studioscogouhbviaadpbs-jpg-large

For a studio that everyone assumed was skipping out on SDCC, Marvel revealed some pretty cool things. We got confirmation on Michael B Jordan playing the villain in Black Panther, cool tidbits on Thor Ragnarok, details on who Kurt Russell is playing in Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2, a new trailer for Doctor Strange, information on Spider-Man Homecoming, and most importantly, we’ve learned who’s going to be bringing Carol Danvers to life (that would be oscar winner Brie Larsen).

But while this was cool, the fact that the new trailer for Doctor Strange and the new opening fanfare for the studio was the only footage released to the public after the panel is pretty disappointing. I get that SDCC organizers need reasons to convince people to keep showing up for the convention, but the fact that Marvel didn’t release anything hurts them in the long run. WB has the right decision to release footage and trailers that are shown at SDCC, mainly because it helps build up positive buzz for them (something they desperately need after BvS). The fact that Marvel still hasn’t released anything aside from the footage of the panels is a bummer, and shows that they are a few years behind everyone else when it comes to SDCC.

 

 Ultimate_allianceMarvel Ultimate Alliance on PS4

One of my favorite games of all time is coming to the PS4. No, not Maximo (still), Marvel Ultimate Alliance! As of this writing, I don’t know if it’s the special Gold Edition or just the regular one, but I’m chomping at the bit to reassemble my New Fantastic Four team and start beating the crap out of the Marvel Universe’s worst enemies.

 

 

 

Kong: Skull Island13731016_314776992194056_8910841053805208136_o

I’ve always liked King Kong movies, but the idea of Skull Island was always a little strange to me. That all changed when I saw the Skull Island trailer, which takes the well-known King Kong story and twists it where some mercenaries and explorers are sent to Skull Island to track the beast. With a cast that has Tom Hiddleston, Brie Larsen, Samuel L Jackson, and John Goodman, Kong: Skull Island looks to be another blast with the big ape!

 

Blair-Witch-posterBlair Witch

The original Blair Witch Project scared the bejesus out of me in middle school, so it’s always had a special place in my horror heart. While it’s easy to make fun of it, the tension and style always worked really well for me. I’ve blocked all memory of Book of Shadows from my mind, but when I heard the news that there was a brand new Blair Witch movie that was a surprise release at Comic Con, my interest was piqued. When I heard You’re Next and The Guest director Adam Wingard was behind the camera for it, I knew I needed to see it immediately. Luckily, with a September release date I don’t have to wait too long to get the crap scared out of me again.

Posted on July 25, 2016, in Comic Books, Comic Convention, Movie and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

