The Age of Supergirl

avengers-ace-of-ultronSo this was a pretty big week for nerd media. First off, we got the debut of the brand new trailer for Avengers: Age of Ultron, and then we got our first look at Melissa Benoist as Supergirl for the upcoming CBS show. The latest Avengers trailer features more action and plot points than the previous one, and also brings up some-you know what, you’re not reading this anyways, so here’s the trailer:

 

 

 

Pretty sweet huh? Not only did we get more of the sweet Hulkbuster/Hulk fight, but we also got one of the coolest scenes in any Marvel movie, that being the slow down shot of all of the Avengers heading into battle in a scene that’s probably going to be the intro of the movie.

The new Age of Ultron trailer is a funny thing, because I almost wish I HADN’T watched it when it hit the Internet. Of course, this is impossible since my will isn’t that strong, but I’ve made it well known that Avengers: Age of Ultron has my money. I don’t need to see anything to convince me to buy a ticket, and I can’t imagine anyone who isn’t excited about this movie. Of course, the amount they’re showing in this trailer makes me wonder: if they’re cool with showing this, what do they have in the movie that they’re not showing us?

On the flip side of things, DC and WB revealed our first look at Melissa Benoist as Supergirl. I’ll admit SGBodyLR_54fa0dfae2f1a5.74310854I’m a little underwhelmed by the costume. I think Benoist looks great, but the costume looks like something you’d buy at Halloween from iParty or Spencer’s gifts. I want to love it, but right now, I’m just kind of on the “looks pretty okay” side of the opinion spectrum. Benoist was really good in her small role in Whiplash, so at the very least I think she’ll be able to pull off playing the girl of steel.

Of course, an early costume promotional image isn’t enough to tell us if Supergirl will be good or bad. Hell, the early pictures of The Flash didn’t look all that great, and that show has ended up becoming one of my favorite shows currently on TV. With that in mind, I’m still optimistic about Supergirl. It’s from the same producers as Arrow and The Flash, so I have nothing to really worry about. Hopefully.

Posted on March 6, 2015, in Comic Books, Movie, TV and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

