Let’s Ride Some Sharks, My Sun and Stars

10292538_10101487226014051_416943994327306903_nLate last night, Zack Snyder tweeted out the first image of Jason Momoa as Aquaman.

And he looks incredibly badass.

Now he’s not exactly like the Aquaman we all know and love from the comics. Yeah, he’s got some blonde streaks in his hair, but the Arthur Curry we know doesn’t have hair quite that long (well, at least not since the 90’s). In fact, this Curry has more in common with Momoa’s take on Conan The Barbarian and his more famous role as Khal Drogo from Game of Thrones than the Aquaman that appeared on Superfriends, and that’s a-okay in my book.

Unfortunately for Aquaman, the general public still views him as a joke character, despite his numerous badass moments in recent years in the comics. Making Aquaman look like an Atlantean Dothraki at least makes people think twice about this Aquaman talking to minnows and dolphins. It tells you the tone of the character’s appearance in these films, and that he’s not going to be a joke (which is one of the problems with the WB DC films, but in this case, it’s necessary).

As someone who’s secretly loved Aquaman since I was a kid, I think this is awesome. Arthur Curry is a character that has long been undervalued, and with this take on the character I’m hopeful that he finally gets the respect he deserves. Hell, as a fan of Momoa, I’m hoping HE gets the project he deserves. I loved the guy as Conan The Barbarian (even if no one saw that movie), and I’m hoping that Aquaman is the role that makes him a star. I love this look for Aquaman so much that if DC changed his comic look to look like this, I’d be 100% down with it. I mean, look at him, and imagine this Aquaman leading an army of sharks. The thought fills me with fan boy glee.

Of course, Aquaman is making his appearance in Batman V Superman: Dawn of Justice, which is quickly becoming the most ambitious comic book movie of all time (which is an understatement). I’m assuming he’ll be nothing more than a cameo (probably after the credits), and as excited as I am by Momoa as Aquaman, I’m still worried that Dawn of Justice could end up being a narrative mess of cameos and Justice League set up.

But if it ends with Khal Drogo riding a hammerhead shark, I’m cool with it.

Posted on February 20, 2015, in Comic Books, Movie and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

