Time For The Fantastic

fantastic-four-poster-reboot-artThe moment we’ve been waiting for (or dreading) has arrived: the first teaser trailer for Josh Trank’s Fantastic Four reboot has hit the internet. While it looks a lot better than I was expecting, it still hasn’t done much to move this up my “must see list” for the summer of 2015. Maybe I’ve let the bad buzz around the film get to my head, or maybe I’m just not that interested in another Fox Fantastic Four film, but something is just…well, “off” whenever I watch it.

It could be the tone of the film. It certainly seems more…well, “Christopher Nolan” than previous Fantastic Four films, and this is coming from someone who’s a Nolan fan. I’m all for serious takes on comic book characters, but this seems a bit much. I fully believe that you can find a way to make the Fantastic Four be serious but fun at the same time. This, however, looks like if the original Stan Lee and Jack Kirby comics had a baby with Interstellar. I was half expecting Matthew McConaughey to start telling us that our destiny was in the stars.

 

 

I think one of my other misgivings with the film is the casting of the FF. Michael B Jordan, Jamie Bell, Kate Mara, and Miles Teller are all great actors, but I think they’re too young to be playing scientists, even by Ultimate Fantastic Four standards. You can tell me all you want that this new version of Reed Richards will be a wiz kid scientist, but at the end of the day if the actor portraying him looks too young, then he’s too young.

My other big question mark is about Doctor Doom. The rumors I’ve heard about this new interpretation of the Marvel big bad have not been great, and since there’s no presence of him in this trailer, I still only have those rumors to go on. Not only that, but Doom hasn’t been mentioned in any interviews that Josh Trank has been conducting with the release of this trailer. Trank needs to tell us if the rumors of Doctor Doom being an Internet blogger are true or not, so the Internet fan boys can plan accordingly.

I don’t want to sound like the guy hating on this before it comes out. I also don’t want to be the guy saying that “Marvel could do this in their sleep”, but …Marvel Studios COULD do this in their sleep. They’d find the perfect tone for the film, and better yet, be able to USE the Fantastic Four in the Marvel Cinematic Universe.

But they can’t, so I guess we’ll just have to play the “wait and see” game.

Posted on January 27, 2015, in Comic Books, Movie and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. If the trailer hadn’t of put that it was the Fantastic Four, I would never had known that! A little too subtle as well as tonally abject. My reaction: confused. Confused and tired.

Leave a Reply

