Upcoming Nerd Things in 2015!!!!

avengers-age-of-ultron-collageAlright, we’ve looked at the best and worst things of 2014, so now it’s time to look into the future and obsess over the movie, TV, and comic events that are coming to us in the upcoming year!  2015 is going to be absolutely massive, so you’ll probably need help figuring out what things you should be REALLY excited for. Well, fear not, cause I’m here to help.  And we’ll start things off with Marvel’s next big “universe changing event”…

 

Secret-Wars-LargeSecret War

I know, I know, after putting both Original Sin and Avengers & X-Men: AXIS I shouldn’t be putting the next big Marvel event on my list. But I can’t help it. I’m a sucker for events.  Jonathan Hickman has been building to this since the start of his fantastic Avengers and New Avengers series, and I want to see what happens (especially if it leads to a Marvel reboot that it’s being rumored to). Sure it could all fall apart, but Hickman’s last event Infinity was actually pretty good, so this could end up being pretty cool. At the very least, I’ll get to read an Old Man Logan tie in series.

 

Avengers: Age of Ultron20141228060157!Avengers_Age_of_Ultron

Of course the next Avengers film is on the list.  It’s the biggest comic book movie of the year, and one that, like the comics, will change the face of the Marvel cinematic universe.  The brief glimpses of what we’ve seen have only made the wait even harder. Scarlet Witch and Quicksilver! Cap and Iron Man having harsh words for one another (which may be the seeds for Civil War)! And the HULKBUSTER!!! Anyone who’s not excited for this needs to have their pulse checked. Sure, it’s a little weird hearing Robert California’s voice come out of Ultron, but it’s going to be awesome seeing the Avenger’s greatest threat come to life on the big screen this May.  Speaking of the Marvel and the big screen…

 

Ant-Man-Comic-Con-PosterAnt-Man

Yep, Ant-Man comes out this year too. Did you forget? Don’t worry I almost did too.  The Paul Rudd and Michael Douglass superhero flick has had a lot of controversy around it, with long time director Edgar Wright leaving the flick back in early summer. Since then, Peyton Reed has stepped up to the plate to helm the flick, which may end up being the biggest gamble for Marvel since Guardians of the Galaxy. Sure, it’s easy to say that this will flop because no one knows who Ant-Man is, but this time last year we were all saying the same thing about Guardians, and we all know how that turned out.

 

 

Uncharted 4: A Thief’s EndUncharted_4_Reveal_Wallpaper

I love the Uncharted games, and honestly thought that Uncharted 3 was going to be Nathan Drake’s swan song. Thankfully, Naughty Dog is bringing the adventurer back for Uncharted 4 on the Playstation 4. With a subtitle like A Thief’s End, one can expect that this may be the last chapter in this series. But at the same time, if it makes bazillion dollars like the previous games, I highly doubt this will be the last time we see Nathan Drake on our TV screens.

 

Jurassic-World-New-Image-Chris-Pratt-RaptorJurassic World

Chris Pratt. Raptors. What else do you need?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Batman “Endgame”4214867-batman#36_pg18

The latest storyline from Scott Snyder and Greg Capullo’s Batman has been a shocker, and as usual, is another example of why these two are the best Batman creative team in a long time. The Joker is back, and he’s not playing around.  This time, the Joker is after everyone the Batman cares about, and he’s ensuring that this is the last time the two tussle. How will it end? Will this really be the last time Joker and Batman face off? I don’t know, but I do know that Snyder and Capullo have been absolutely killing it month in and month out on Batman, and I don’t see that ending any time soon.

 

 

 

 

531514764d69aBatman Arkham Knight

Speaking of Batman, my #1 most anticipated game is easily Batman: Arkham Knight.  Set to hit some point in June of this year, this is developer Rocksteady’s swan song with the Batman, and it looks awesome. Fighting against Scarecrow, Penguin, Two-Face, Harley Quinn, and the mysterious Arkham Knight, Batman must once again save his city from the evil that plagues it. Plus, you get to drive the Batmobile (finally).

 

 

 

DC’s Convergence Tie-InsConvergence00-630x420


I’ll be honest, I’m still not 100% sure I know what DC’s upcoming spring event is about, but I do know that one of the mutltiple tie in miniseries will feature a universe where Azrael is still Batman, which is all I needed to know. I’m a sucker for alternate realities, and I’ve longed for an Elseworlds miniseries that shows what Gotham would be like if Bruce was never able to return as the Batman after “Knightfall”. It looks like I may get that chance soon.

 

Amazing_Spider-Man_Vol_3_13_TextlessSpider-Verse


“Spider-Verse” has been surprisingly awesome, and I really can’t wait to see how Dan Slott pulls of the grand finale of the massive Amazing Spider-Man story. What could’ve been a weird dumb gimmick has been a lot of fun, and filled with some pretty incredible moments for all of the different Spideys that have popped up in it. Of course, I have my favorites, which means that at least a few of them have to die. Here’s hoping Spider-Ham makes it out alive (I can’t believe I just said that).

 

 

 

Spider-Gwenwhy-we-will-get-a-spider-gwen-film-in-2017-get-ready-for-a-spider-gwen-film-in-2017

Also from “Spider-Verse” is the upcoming Spider-Gwen ongoing, which follows the fan-favorite Gwen Stacy, Spider-Woman character that blew up the internet last summer. While I’m still very surprised that she’s getting an ongoing before a trial miniseries, I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t super excited to see more of this world. Her Edge of Spider-Verse issue was a ton of fun, and since the same creative team will be handling her monthly adventures, I see no reason for that fun to stop.

 

 

 

Star_Wars_1_Cassaday_cov-720x1067Marvel’s Star Wars

As you all know, I love Star Wars. However, I’ve never been that into the comic books and novels that take place in the galaxy far, far away.  I’ve always dabbled a few times with some series, but they’ve never been able to hold my attention for very long. However, Marvel’s upcoming Star Wars line of comics looks pretty damn awesome, and they’re putting some of their top talent on the books. Sure, the Jason Aaron and John Cassaday Star Wars title probably won’t ship on time (ever), but I really can’t help but get excited for it.  And the Darth Vader comic that’s coming up sounds amazing. The Godfather and House of Cards meets the Empire? Sign me the hell up. And Speaking of Star Wars

 

Star Wars: Episode 7: The Force AwakensStar-Wars-The-Force-Awakens

Yes, 2015 brings us Avengers: Age of Ultron, Jurassic World, and the return of Mad Max, but Star Wars is the big dog. This is the movie to beat all movies. The hype for Episode 7 is just as big as the hype for Episode 1, probably even more so. So far I’ve watched the trailer about 49 times, and I still can’t help but have a giant smile on my face. I’m beyond excited for it, and back into the Star Wars fandom full swing. From reading the books, to getting the comics, to checking out Twin Dragon’s Lightsaber dueling club, I’m in. If you want to start lining up now, I’m game.

Posted on January 8, 2015, in Batman, Comic Books, Movie, TV, Video Games and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

