2014 Summer Movie Wrap-Up!

-380ed957-36d7-4dec-bada-2b76d6b3523cIt’s now Labor Day, which can only mean one thing: summer, and the movies that came with it, are over. This summer movie season saw a huge amount of comic book and other geek friendly movies hit our screens, some good (Guardians of the Galaxy) and some bad (Amazing Spider-Man 2). So, how do they all stack up when we put them against one another? I’m glad you asked, because it’s time for my annual Summer Movie Wrap Up!

 

rs_634x939-140324091106-634.jennifer-lawrence-x-men.ls.32414X-Men: Days of Future Past

Damn. What an excellent movie. Yeah, it may make your head hurt if you try to match it up with the other films in Fox’s X-Men franchise, but Days of Future Past was so much fun that I didn’t even think about them. Director Bryan Singer’s return to the franchise was an excellent way to make up for allowing X-Men: The Last Stand and X-Men Origins: Wolverine to happen, and the plot actually does a really good job of presenting you with some crazy ideas without getting bogged down in exposition. Of course, getting Patrick Stewart and Ian McKellan to reprise their roles as Charles Xavier and Magneto was going to get my butt in a seat, and having my main man Hugh Jackman team up with Michael Fassbender and James McAvoy (reprising THEIR roles as Charles and Magneto, respectively) was icing on the cake. Plus, how awesome was the Quicksilver scene?

A

 

 

 

Amazing Spider-Man 2download

 Whooo boy. Look, by now, we all know how I felt about Sony’s sequel to Amazing Spider-man. I’ll leave the link to my original review here in case you missed it. However, as time as gone on, my anger over the film grows to the point when I can longer say I didn’t like, I end up going on 30-minute rants about it.

Much of my hatred comes from two places: Sony’s misguided attempt to turn Spidey into an Avengers level franchise, and the complete and utter disaster that was the Green Goblin. Taking Harry Osborne, who’s original motivation is “I just found out my father (who never respected me) is a murderer, and I think my best friend killed him” and turning that into “hey, give me your blood” was, to this Spidey fan, atrocious. They took Spider-Man’s greatest nemesis, Norman Osborn, and made him a footnote. Adding salt to the wound was the fact that his costume had more in common with a witch costume you’d get at iParty than any interpretation of the Goblin.

And here it comes again. Even Sony knows how badly they messed up. This is the company that was predicting a 2 billion dollar worldwide gross and ended up with the lowest performing Spider-Man movie since the series began. Hell, they released the blu-ray on AUGUST 19. AUGUST, 3 months after the movie was released IN THEATERS! If that’s not a sign that Sony is desperately trying to make their money back, I don’t know what is.   I know it’s impossible, but I wake up everyday hoping that I’ll see news that Disney has bought the rights back from Sony. But until then, I know I won’t be seeing another Spider-Man film in theaters for a very, very, long time.

C-….no wait, D…..no it’s an F

 

downloadDawn of the Planet of the Apes

 Much like its predecessor, Dawn of the Planet of the Apes was way better than it had any right to be. Picking up ten years after the events of Rise, the few surviving humans in San Francisco try to work together with the apes living nearby in hopes of accessing a dam to power their community. Spoiler alert: it doesn’t end well.

While it sucks for the characters that the relationship between the humans and apes goes sour, watching it is incredibly riveting, and at times moving. Credit definitely goes to Andy Serkis, who once again delivers a stunning performance as Caesar, the ape leader who’s desperately trying to keep the peace between the two species. He’s so good that at times you forget that he’s a computer-animated character. While Gary Oldman’s role was severely over promoted in the trailers, he still does a good job in the few scenes he’s in, and the final showdown between man and ape is one of the most incredible action scenes of the year.

A-

 

 

Godzillanew_godzilla_poster

Despite most people hating on it, I actually kind of enjoyed Godzilla. Yes, I want less time spent with the humans next time, (unless they’re played by Bryan Cranston), but I really liked the “real world” take on the giant monster movies, and the few scenes we got of Godzilla demolishing a city were pretty cool. Hopefully the sequel, which won’t hit theatres until 2018, will correct some of the mistakes this first film made.

B-

 

 

 

 

 

 

GOTG_Payoff_1-Sht_v4b_LgGuardians of the Galaxy

I think we can all safely say that none of us were expecting Guardians of the Galaxy to be as successful as it is. This is a film that has everyone and their mother saying “I am Groot” in regular conversation. It’s become such a mainstream hit that it’s placed Marvel Studios as the live action equivalent of Pixar. The words “Marvel Studios” are now synonomous with “quality entertainment”.

What’s been most stunning to me, though, is that I have yet to meet someone in the flesh who didn’t like the film. Oh sure, there are plenty of naysayers on the Internet, but I’ve yet to hear someone say to my face that they didn’t enjoy the movie. This was a huge gamble that’s paid off extremely well for Marvel, as it’s now on track to be not only be the highest grossing movie of the summer, but of the entire year. Marvel truly is unstoppable.

A+

 

 

Sin City: A Dame To Kill Forimages

 So the latest Sin City was essentially DOA last weekend, which is a shame, because despite what the reviews may say, I didn’t find it to be that bad. However, it’s not a better film than the original, not by a long shot. Maybe it’s because the thrill of seeing Frank Miller’s comics come to life is dulled after the first movie, or maybe (probably) it has to do with the fact that it took nearly a decade for this sequel to get off the ground that contributed to it’s complete and utter tanking at the box office. At the very least though, the film is definitely worth watching for Eva Green, who steals the entire movie as the titular “Dame to kill for”.

C+

 

 

 

Edge_of_Tomorrow_PosterEdge of Tomorrow

Speaking of movies that underperformed at the box office, Edge of Tomorrow deserved a bigger audience than it got. The Tom Cruise science fictioner was incredible, and one of the coolest genre films of the past five years. Watching Cruise repeat the same day over, and over, and over again may sound tedious on paper, but trust me; it’s a lot of fun. Oh, and Emily Blunt’s in it, so it’s automatically a must see.

B+

 

 

 

 

 

 So there you have it, a smattering of the movies that I saw this summer. Where’s Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles you ask? Well, I was on vacation the week it came out and didn’t get a chance to see it, and at this point I’ll probably end up waiting until it’s on Redbox.

Anyways, it’s time to crown our victor…and it’s Guardians of the Galaxy. I mean honestly, could it have been anyone else? Look, I said already that this was a pretty great summer for movies, and Days of Future Past is right behind it by a hair, but at the risk of sounding like every other blogger on the internet, Guardians of the Galaxy was so much fun that I didn’t want it to end. It’s gotten me extremely jazzed for the rest of Marvel’s films and hasn’t let go of my imagination since I saw it. It’s that good, and deserves all of the success that it’s been getting.

So what do you think? Which movie ruled the summer for you? Sound off!

 

 

 

 

 

Posted on September 1, 2014, in Comic Books, Movie, Movie Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

